Skip to main content

2024 CHS Excellence Awards Ceremony Held

2024 CHS Excellence Awards Ceremony Held


The College of Health Sciences (CHS) at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Kumasi held the "2024 CHS Excellence Awards Ceremony" on Wednesday, 27th March 2024, at the Great Hall of the University. The event aimed to appreciate hard-working staff, students, and notable alumni who have excelled in various fields.

The Provost of the College, Professor Christian Agyare, in his welcome address, emphasised the pivotal role of the CHS in expanding access to higher education to train health professionals to meet the healthcare needs of the country and the world at large. He highlighted the significance of recognition in driving success and motivation and further stated the importance of honouring the services of dedicated staff, alumni, and students who have contributed to the success of the College.


Prof Agyare
Professor Christian Agyare, Provost, College of Health Sciences (CHS)

Professor Agyare in his address, introduced three new categories - innovation, research, and community engagement - as areas to acknowledge outstanding achievements among students and staff. He expressed gratitude to the University Management, stakeholders, and sponsors for their support in enhancing the teaching, research, and community engagement efforts of the CHS. He noted that for the hard work and commitment of all the College has always been the best and first in terms of research output. He, therefore, called on industry to partner with the College to conduct research that will improve healthcare delivery in the Country. He indicated that KNUST as a research-intensive institution is keen on the provision of ground-breaking industry-ready solutions that positively impact the lives of individuals in society, with the support of constructive partnerships.

During the ceremony, seventy-seven (77) individuals, including students, staff, and alumni, received awards for their outstanding contributions to the College of Health Sciences.

The following individuals who have shown unwavering dedication and exemplary leadership in healthcare education, research, and practice were presented with awards.

For the Best Graduating Student in each Programme, Addo Moses Yeboah (Doctor of Pharmacy), Yeboah Flavia Owusu (Herbal Medicine), Asiedu-Amponsah Nana Kwame (BSc. Human Biology, Medicine), Albert Kwaku Boahin (MBCHB. Medicine and Surgery), Ibrahim Hamza (BSc. Medical Imaging), Abutiate Solomon (Medical Laboratory Technology), Kesse Grace Asiamah (BSc. Physiotherapy and Sports Science), Nkrumah Phinehas and Boahin Albert Kwaku (Community Health 2022 and 2023 respectively), Abankwa Stephen Badu (Nursing), Acheampong Afia Nyarko (Emergency Nursing), Tenkorang Antoinette Osei Ansong (Midwifery), Abdullai Lamisi Kolbil (Disability and Rehabilitation Studies), Goka Prince Dela (Doctor of Veterinary Medicine), and Asiedu- Amponsah Nana Kwame (Overall Best Graduating Student).

Professor Samuel Asamoah Sakyi (Best Senior Member, Mentorship), Dr. Linda Batsa Debrah (Best Senior Member, Teaching), Dr. Nana Kwame Ayisi-Boateng (Best Senior Member, Research), Dr. Max Efui Annani-Akollor (Best Senior Member, Service and Innovation), Mr. Frank Kofi Asiedu (Best Senior Staff), and Mr. Daniel Owusu Ansah (Best Junior Staff) received awards in the School of Medicine and Dentistry.


CHS Awards


In the Faculty of Allied Health Sciences, Professor Alex Yaw Debrah (Mentorship), Dr. Yaw Amo Wiafe (Best Senior Member, Teaching), Dr. Michael Owusu (Best Senior Member, Research), Dr. Isaac Mensah Bonsu (Service and Innovation), Mrs. Benedicta Kwakye (Best Senior Member, Non-Teaching), Ms. Mary Agyeman (Best Senior Staff), and Joel Salifu (Best Junior Staff) were awarded.

At the School of Veterinary Medicine, Professor Emmanuel Nakua (Mentorship), Dr. Aliyu Mohammed (Best Senior Member, Teaching), Dr. Edward Tierru Dassah (Best Senior Member, Research), Dr. Kofi Akohene Mensah (Service and Innovation), Mrs. Ernestina Quarshie (Best Senior Member, Non-Teaching), Mrs. Mojisola Kemi Moses (Best Senior Staff), and Joseph Essilfie (Best Junior Staff) were recipients of awards.

Dr. Edward Appiah Boateng (Teaching), Dr. Mrs. Adwoa Bemah Boamah Boateng (Research), Dr. Hayford Budu (Service and Innovation), Miss Senita Osei Badu (Senior Member, Non-Teaching), and Ms. Bridget Agbernorku (Senior Staff) received awards in the School of Nursing and Midwifery. Additionally, in the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Professor Kingsley Amponsah (Pharmacognosy), Dr. John Nii Adotey (Best Senior Member, Teaching), Dr. Abena Amponsaa Brobbey (Best Senior Member, Research), and Ms. Adelaide Osei-Afriyie (Best Senior Staff) were recognized.

For the overall awards, Dr. Edward Appiah was awarded Best Senior Member (Teaching), Dr. Michael Owusu received Best Senior Member (Research), Ms. Mary Agyeman was honored as Best Senior Staff, and Mrs. Mary Opiah-Mensah received the Best Junior Staff award.

Awards were also presented to outstanding alumni, retirees, and past Provosts of the College.